Mail Fraud: Case Study
A few days ago, i came across this mail fraud. I was looking for some merchandise and came across this forum, in which someone has advertised an iphone for just 100 quid. This sounded very phishy and too good to be true. I decided to contact the person and enquire about the product. The person on the other side of internet, narrated me a story which is also documented on this phising website:-
http://tnteu.com/tnt.express.london.depot.overseas.transactions
What is interesting to note is the tracking option and the website layout. The 'whois' information shows the domain has been recently bought. Also, the homepage of the website redirects to the legitimate website.
Note:- Please be careful while making a deal with anyone on the internet. Any deals requiring money transaction through untraceable means like Western Union, is more likely to be a scam.
Yes, this appears to be a scam. I just ran across an ad in Craigslist for a camera priced too low to be true, and they emailed back to pay via Western Union through the http://tnteu.com site you mentioned. However a quick look at whois showed the domain is NOT owned by www.TNT.com
Comment by Careful too :: April 19, 2008 @ 6:26 pm